Predominantly a north side club, tBushflyers is one of the more successful Australian orienteering clubs, having produced a number of Australian champions and representatives. They have won the club championship at the national level on several occasions.

The Bushflyers were formed around 1990 as a consequence of a merger between two of the original Canberra based orienteering clubs — the Northside Navigators and the Majura Macropods.

The Bushflyers have regular social events known as Bushies Swarm. These are rather informal events rotating through members’ houses and are a great way of getting to know each other. All are welcome. There are also plenty of members very willing to help newcomers at local events.

Ian Booth Award

This was named after Ian Booth, a club stalwart, who died suddenly of a heart attack in 2011. Ian enjoyed a red wine very much so the award is normally based on good quality Australian red wine.

The prize is awarded to the most improved Master’s level competitor. It is calculated on relative improvement based on ACT League results. The winner must have competed in at least 50% of events. The award cannot be won by the same person on more than one occasion.

Previous winners have been:
2022   Jo Hobson
No Award
   No Award
   Matt Stocks
   Chris Anderson
   Anita Scherrer
2016   Valerie Barker
2015   Chris Stocks
2014   Carol Harding
2013   Toni Brown
2012   Robyn D’Ascenzo
2011   Pauli Piiroinen