You are currently viewing Martin Dent Claims Victory in Runners Shop Twilight Series

Martin Dent Claims Victory in Runners Shop Twilight Series

Martin Dent has secured his second consecutive victory in the Runners Shop Twilight Series, with a convincing win in this afternoon’s penultimate round at Black Mountain Peninsula. There had been a possibility that Hayden Dent could challenge his father for the series victory if he could win the final two races, but a mispunch by the younger Dent at today’s race has made that outcome impossible. Hayden is now guaranteed to finish the series in second place.

Interest will now turn to the contest for third place – a two-way showdown between Owen Radajewski and Matty Maundrell. Matty will need to finish at least fourth and at least four places ahead of Owen in order to tie him for third overall. Oscar Brown will round out the overall top five after some strong performances in the last few races.

Matty’s sister, Katherine Maundrell, had also been in the box seat for a top three challenge up until the summer break, but an unfortunate injury sustained during the Oceania Championships in New Zealand has put her out of action for the time being. Katherine still sits in sixth for the time being, but that will change significantly next week when the rest of the field adds a seventh event to their total scores.

The full results from today‚Äôs event are available here, Livelox GPS tracking is available here, and John Harding’s photos from the event can be viewed on Facebook.

The top 10 on corrected time at Black Mountain Peninsula were:

NameHandicapCorrected km rate
Martin Dent0.8903 min 37.40 sec
Sanda Halpin0.6563 min 53.72 sec
Nea Shingler*0.7523 min 54.34 sec
Naomi Penton0.6083 min 55.83 sec
Patrick Maundrell0.7303 min 55.98 sec
Isobel Walter0.5843 min 59.26 sec
Matty Maundrell0.8204 min 02.76 sec
Tessa Radajewski0.5604 min 03.85 sec
Judy Allison0.44484 min 16.50 sec
Owen Radajewski0.9104 min 20.94 sec
*NSW runner ineligible for Twilight Series score

The top five placings after 11 events are:

  • 750 Martin Dent
  • 746 Hayden Dent
  • 733 Owen Radajewski
  • 728 Matty Maundrell
  • 721 Oscar Brown

The full standings are here.

The final Twilight Series event will be at John Knight Park on Wednesday 13 March, it will be follwed by the Orienteering ACT 2023 Annual Awards presentations, from 6:30pm immediately following the event. Please join us for this special opportunity to celebrate the successes, hard work, and valuable contributions made by many OACT members during 2023.