You are currently viewing Matt Crane’s Challenge Falls Short

Matt Crane’s Challenge Falls Short

Pictured from L to R: Martin Dent, Matt Crane, Shannon Jones

In only his second start in the 2020-21 Runners Shop Twilight Series on Wednesday evening, Matt Crane, the 2020 ACT Orienteer of the Year, was unable to break Martin Dent’s string of consecutive wins in the Series. Crane was an early starter on the 3.8 km course at Mt Taylor and finished with a time of 18 min 13 sec. Dent started later and may have known what time he was chasing.  470 metres from the finish, Dent’s time was just two second ahead of Crane’s and he extended his margin to 12 seconds at the finish, which was reduced to seven seconds on corrected time.

The full results are here, the Winsplits are here and the maps and John Harding’s photos are here

After the age/gender handicap factors were applied the top ten competitors were:

Competitor Handicap  Corrected times
Martin Dent 0.920 4 min 21.72 sec
Matt Crane 0.940 4 min 30.37 sec
Shannon Jones 0.736 4 min 37.16  sec
David Stocks 0.910 4 min 43.30 sec
Owen Radajewski 0.820 4 min 48.51 sec
Elye Dent 0.760 4 min 55.60 sec
Ryan Stocks 1.000 5 min 00.79 sec
Paul de Jongh 1.000 5 min 02.37 sec
Anthony Scott 0.750 5 min 03.36 sec
Eric Morris 0.820 5 min 07.93 sec

After the scores from event # 12 were applied, Dent had the best possible score, with seven wins. The top five best seven scores in the standings are:

  • Martin Dent RR A 875
  • Shannon Jones AO A 863
  • David Stocks BS A 856
  • Ryan Stocks BS A 855
  • Paul de Jongh BS A 838

Dent seems certain to win the series as he only needs to win one of the next three races to have a perfect score for the series and Shannon Jones sits comfortably in second place. The main interest will be in which one of the Stocks brothers will pick up the third prize voucher.

The next event will be at Arachnicopia South on Wednesday 17 February.